Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco has worked tirelessly on behalf of her constituents for more than 15 years. She was first elected in 2003 and is currently the longest serving Asian female politician in the City of Vaughan and York Region. Now entering into her fifth term on Vaughan Council, she has been a driving force in bringing new parks, community centres and vital services to her constituents. Additionally, she has played an integral role in arts and cultural initiatives, addressing the needs of youth and seniors, advocating for strong comprehensive development of the Vaughan Metropolitan Centre, and collaborating with various levels of government to get much needed infrastructure in place, including the opening of the subway into the City of Vaughan in December 2017.

Currently in her capacity as a City Councillor, Sandra serves as Vice-Chair of the Smart City Advisory Task Force and will work with residents, businesses and other stakeholders to discuss and develop a vision of what a Smart City would mean for the City of Vaughan.  As well, over her years as an elected official, Sandra has participated and led a number of trade missions to China and Asia in hopes of developing, growing and nurturing international business relationships and bringing forward mutually beneficial and positive economic growth.

Sandra was born in Hong Kong, raised in Ontario, studied music and obtained her A.R.C.T. at the Royal Conservatory of Music and graduated from the University of Toronto with a Bachelor of Music Education degree. After graduation, the Councillor ventured into the world of international business relations, developing an understanding of the needs of global business communities. However, it was her volunteer work with local non-profit community organizations and her experience working with diverse boards and committees across Toronto and Vaughan that endowed her with a nuanced appreciation of the fabric of the local community.

Sandra’s background and experience blend business relations, the arts, family and a complex understanding of the needs and priorities of her constituents. She is committed to delivering results beyond the level of expectation and to building a vibrant community in Ward 4.

Sandra currently lives in Thornhill with her husband and four children.

Present City of Vaughan Boards/Committees

  • Member of Council, City of Vaughan
  • Member, Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Sub-Committee
  • Chair, Hydro Vaughan Energy Corporation
  • Vice-Chair, Mayor’s Smart City Advisory Task Force
  • Trustee, Vaughan Public Library Board
  • Director, Vaughan Holdings Inc.
  • Member, Finance, Administration and Audit Committee
  • Member, Concord West Streetscape Community Advisory Committee

Other Committee, Boards and Task Forces

  • Board of Governor, St. Thomas of Villanova Catholic School
  • Chair, Governance Committee, St. Thomas of Villanova Catholic School
  • Honorary Chair, Vaughan Mayor’s Lunar Gala Committee
  • President, Federation of Chinese Canadians in York Region (Vaughan Chapter)
  • President, South York Region Women’s Liberal Association
  • Honorary Advisor, Canadian Multicultural Council, Asians in Ontario
  • Honorary Chair and Opening Co-MC, Taste of Asia Festival
  • Honorary Advisor, York Central Chinese Canadian Association
  • Honorary Advisor, Vaughan Chinese Business Association (Chinese Business Council of Vaughan)
  • Honorary Advisor, RoyalCrest Academy

Past City of Vaughan Committees

  • Past Co-Chair, Canada 150 Task Force
  • Past Board Member, Vaughan Community Health Centre
  • Past Chair, Vaughan Holdings Inc.
  • Past Chair, Economic Development Committee
  • Past Chair, Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Advisory Committee
  • Past Chair, Council/School Board Liaison Committee
  • Past Chair, Arts Advisory Committee
  • Vice-Chair, Safe City Committee
  • Past Director, PowerStream Board of Directors
  • Past Member, York Region Road Watch Committee
  • Past Member, Emergency Management Program Committee
  • Past Member, Hearing Committee for Licensing Matters
  • Past Member, Intergovernmental Relations Committee
  • Past Member, Youth Advisory Council