On July 1st, 1867, the British North America Act came into effect, unifying the British colonies of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick into the Dominion of Canada. With a population of approximately 7000, Vaughan Township had grown into a vibrant agricultural community.

Conference at Quebec in 1864, to settle the basics of a union of the British North American Provinces, also known as The Fathers of Confederation, 1885 photograph of Robert Harris’ painting